do do do do, banana bread, do do do do…. here i am humming away after baking this beautiful banana bread, the whole kitchen smells so homey, as if  I went far far away and living in a little cottage. Well, I bet this is exactly how Andy felt when he got up this morning with this yummy smell. Let me take you back 9 hrs ago before I transformed his apartment into a cosy country side cottage…..Just before I was heading to bed on Friday night, I shared with him my discovery on Tessy’s Banana Bread recipe on Shutterbean, I was so excited and I really felt like baking that in the morning so we can have fresh baked banana bread for breakfast. Although that is only if i can get up early, I do love my sleep in on Saturday and no one – NO ONE is gonna take that away from me! Fast forward 7 hrs on, I was still asleep enjoying just lying in bed, I started feeling this push and kicks from Andy, I asked ‘Whats wrong?’ He simply replied ‘Go on, go make banana bread’ and he wouldn’t stop poking and pushing me  until I finally had enough and got up. That’s right, he kicked me out of bed, so he could have fresh baked banana bread for breakfast!!! Man, I gonna have to start charging him with all my baked goods! Especially on Saturday morning, I should get triple paid!!

Anywhooooo, back to the banana bread! This bread is ever so moist! Pack of goodness of banana flavour, its fluffy with big moist crumbs! And the cinnamon crumble topping really made this a special recipe!

I used wholemeal flour instead of plain flour and the result was excellent! It gives the bread a more wholesome and rustic feel to it, you will feel indeed  homey and cosy when you are eating it!

Tessy’s Banana Bread

(recipe from Shutterbean)

  • 1 cup plus all-purpose flour (I used wholemeal plain flour)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • coarse salt
  • 125g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk or 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 large banana, mashed ( Mine is a bit more than 1/2 cup -see picture)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the topping:

  • 1 tablespoon cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • salt

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180C.  Butter a loaf pan.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together 1 cup flour, the sugar, baking powder, baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

3. Stir in the melted butter and the buttermilk or yogurt. Add the egg and beat for 1 minute. Add the banana and vanilla. Stir until well combined. Spread the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.

4. Make a topping by mashing together the tablespoon of cold butter with the tablespoon of flour, the brown sugar, cinnamon and a pinch of salt. Distribute the topping evening over the batter. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until cake tester or toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Cut and serve from the pan.

NOTES:

1. Best serve Warm! 🙂